Nelsonfoto Forums
May 24, 2012, 12:20:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: eBay seller Airwatches  (Read 710 times)
Towermax
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 74


View Profile
« on: June 21, 2010, 06:37:23 PM »

I've sent four messages to this Brooklyn-based seller over the past month and not got a single reply. 

They've got a couple of items I'm interested in, but need more info on.  (And some of the pictures are blurry and out-of-focus.)  Their feedback is not too bad--98.9% on 8437 transactions--and they sell a lot of photo stuff.  My questions were simple--for example, what lens diameter does this hood fit?

Does anyone have any experience with this outfit or know anything about them?  Based on their lack of response, I don't think I'll be doing business with them, but I've never before run into a major seller who just doesn't respond. 

Thanks,

Carroll
Logged
Scott
Prolific Poster
*****
Posts: 3567

bliorg
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2010, 06:53:23 PM »

Don't know them, but I'd be hesitant to go with a seller with a 98.9 rating... :eek:
Logged

It's better to fail spectacularly than apologetically...

http://scottperryphoto.wordpress.com/
LarryD
Karma is Real
Prolific Poster
*****
Posts: 11384


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2010, 09:07:37 PM »

I have i just never deal with them. And many are from Germany .....
Logged

Film photography and the Soviet Union are not dead. Just downsized.
jake
Prolific Poster
*****
Posts: 8511


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2010, 05:55:15 PM »

Airwatches is reputed to be one of the names that Cambridge Photo uses to trade on ebay. I am not sure how they manage to maintain ANY reputation on ebay, let alone a good one. Cambridge Photo was notorious for bad service bordering on dishonest and/or criminal. I would stay a long distance away from them.
Logged

denis_HR
Frequent Contributor
***
Posts: 103


View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2010, 09:11:38 AM »

I'd stay away from any seller who has less than 99.7-99.8 positives, depending on the number of sold items. This one has a lot less than that.

The fact that you never got any replies on the 4 mesages you sent should tell you what you can expect...
Logged
Towermax
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 74


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2010, 06:41:49 PM »

Thanks to all for their responses.  I managed to find the items I wanted from other vendors.

Feedback under 99% is a warning sign for me--and even when 99% or better, I examine feedback carefully before bidding.  And, if Airwatches really is an alias for Cambridge Photo, then it truly is buyer beware . . .
Logged
jon macmillan
Frequent Contributor
***
Posts: 170


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2010, 04:52:57 AM »

Thinking of Cambridge.....

Has anyone ever figured out how they stay in business?
Logged
jake
Prolific Poster
*****
Posts: 8511


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2010, 07:57:20 AM »

Money laundering?
Logged

melek
Web editor
Prolific Poster
*****
Posts: 2070


View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2010, 06:40:32 PM »

I bought one thing from them a long time ago. A vented metal 40.5mm lens hood. It was a bit overpriced, but it was before HEAVYSTAR got into the game.

The cameras that they sell are WAY overpriced, I think.
Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!